A wonderful introduction

I finally did it!!!

I started a blog πŸ™‚ A place where I can go off on random rants about all my idiosyncracies and the things that go wrong in my world and post pictures of random recipes I make in the middle of the night because I can’t sleep. Hoorah! Betcha you were so looking forward to that.

So before I get off to a compeltely pointless start, here’s a bit about me: I love the arts; dance, music, crafts, baking (if you can call that an art), design and fashion as well to a certain extent. I figure skated for many years but am momentarily not practising. I play the piano- close to getting my teacher’s degree in a few years πŸ™‚ and I looove literature. I can read or write all day, I also enjoy watching movies or videos or some tv shows as well; my favorite is The Big Bang Theory, although I haven’t seen many others because we *GASP* don’t have tv channels. Most of the time I watch hindi movies or japanese animes through netflix or online sites. Some other likes of mine: anime, Kpop, crochet, Owl City, foreign and classical music, and the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (if I ever get to finishing reading it xD).

Soo I hope you find something of interest in my babbling πŸ™‚

And now that that’s out of the way…. I have very important news.

I made muffins :3

Obviously, this is the “wonderful” part of the introduction.

This is a very interesting recipe because it uses cornflakes. It adds a very original texture. The ones on top harden and are visibly still intact as flakes. Depending on how long you let them soak in milk, the ones inside the muffin may be almost completely dissolved into the rest of the dough.

I found that I had a lot more success getting these to rise by using buttermilk and baking soda than goat’s milk and baking powder, but the baking soda (which I mistakenly used in the same amount as the baking powder) gave them such a powerfully soapy-bitter taste that I rarely risk it xP

They still puffed up quite a bit though!

Oh yeah, I cut bits of my favorite chocolate bar up to use instead of chocolate chips. That also gives it a more personal, homemade touch flavor – and you can use the exact kind of chocolate you love best!! πŸ™‚

Here is the recipe:

for 12 muffins

– 4 cups cornflakes

– 2 cups goatmilk (or buttermilk)

– 2 cups flour (I used whole wheat to make them healthier)

– 1/2 tsp salt

– 6 tsp baking powder (or 2 tsp baking soda)

– 1/2 cup oil

– 1/2 cup sugar

– 1 egg

– 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

– chocolate chips or broken bits of your favorite chocolate bar

Put the cornflakes in a big bowl and set aside. In another bowl, mix the flour, sugar, salt, and baking powder. Separate the egg white and yolk into two different small bowls, whip the egg whites until stiff peaks begin to form. To the cornflakes, add the milk and mix so all the flakes are soaked and wet. Then add the egg yolk and whipped white, vanilla extract, and oil. Mix until it’s incorporated. Then add the flour, trying not to overmix or the baking powder will start to react with the wet ingredients and it won’t puff up in the oven as much.

Scoop into muffin cups. The way I did it is to put a heaped tsp into the bottom of each one, then put four or five bits of chocolate, then keep layering a tsp of the batter and chocolate chips. I did this because if I just dump it all in with the chocolate chips already mixed in the batter, they tend to sink to the bottom or get stuck to the paper, and then it becomes a mess when you peel the paper off. I filled the muffincups to the top, and they puffed up nicely, but different ovens and ingredients might react to this differently.

Bake at 400 degrees F for 20 minutes. (For small muffins, about 12-15 muffins depending on how well done you want them).

It’s also a good idea to have the Β oven preheated and ready to put the muffins in as soon as you finish scooping them into the muffin tins. This is, again, so the baking powder doesn’t start reacting too much with the ingredients before it’s supposed to, otherwise it won’t work as well in the oven.

I really like this recipe. It tastes like breakfast in a cup :3 The last time I made them they turned out quite dense but they are quite delicious. And they don’t use all that much oil and sugar either!

This one had chocolate chips. But they chocolate stays more intact and solid if it’s from a chocolate bar (I used extra dark though, because that’s my favorite). And if you are wondering, I did in fact use Winnie the Poof muffin cups…. they were the only ones left in the store πŸ˜› But I think they’re cute!

The dough tasted amazing too. Yummm.

Just look at that creamy goodness. (In this case I whipped the egg whites with the sugar just to see what it would do, but I think it just makes the muffins even denser… tastes hellofamazing though!)

 

Just one more…

Β 

Okay fine, two. Couldn’t help myself. That tends to happen around muffins.

Enjoy! :0)

One comment on “A wonderful introduction

Leave a Reply

